Supporting A Tall Wedding Cake

Baking By kwaples001 Updated 1 week ago by kakeladi

kwaples001 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kwaples001 Posted 28 Jun 2020 , 7:15pm
post #1 of 13

I’ve been baking for about 16 years now but I’ve always shied away from wedding cakes, so I haven’t had much need to use multiple cake boards and supports  if I’m using 4 layers each of 6”, 9” & 12” layers  how many cake boards should I use and do I used supports between each board?  I was thinking perhaps every 2 layers  is that enough?

12 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 29 Jun 2020 , 1:02am
post #2 of 13

The rule of thumb is to board & dowel support every 4”.  Since the fad w/6” tall cakes I think most people are just using a center dowel.  That reqHires the cake be on at least a dbl board or a drum so that dowel has something to bite to .   

SandraSmiley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandraSmiley Posted 29 Jun 2020 , 1:22am
post #3 of 13

I only use an additional cake board inside a tier with it is 8" tall, which is just what you said, kakeladi.  I do use dowels in the bottom 4" before adding the second half of the tier.  There is enough difference in the size of your tiers that, if the tiers are nice and level and you use plenty of dowels, a central dowel should not be necessary.  Be sure the cake is chilled well before transporting.

kakeladi Posted 29 Jun 2020 , 3:14am
post #4 of 13