Help Recreating This Cake!! How To Stick Sprinkles To Fondant Cake??

Decorating By sammy_789 Updated 11 Jun 2022 , 11:50pm by littlejewel

sammy_789 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sammy_789 Posted 9 Mar 2020 , 5:27pm
post #1 of 4

So I am a relatively new cake decorator. I’ve been baking for about six years but only since this year have I began to get into actually decorating, especially with fondant. I’m self taught so there is still a lot for me to learn. This week I am making my first tiered cake for a family members birthday party. I have more or less everything figured out but one thing I am unsure about is how to stick sprinkles to a side of a fondant cake. ( the inspo picture is attached )

I understand it would be easier to just make a buttercream cake but honestly I’m not the best with buttercream – I have yet to master how to ice the outside of a cake so evenly. My buttercream cakes definitely look homemade whereas my fondant covered ones are a lot more professional if that makes sense?

Anyways I’ve been thinking and I have three options so far:

-       - a) put edible glue on the sprinkles and stick them on individually ( time consuming, I know, but avoids error )

-  b) apply edible glue or piping gel to the part of the cake I want the sprinkle and then press in sprinkles in handfuls

-      - c) steaming side of cake so that the fondant turns tacky and then, again, pressing sprinkles in in handfuls ( seen in this video

)

Which would you guys recommend, and if you have any further suggestions then I’m all ears.

Also, I am painting the bottom tier with edible paint ( rainbow dust brand ) so whatever way I choose to add the sprinkles I don’t want it to mess up the paint ( I am unable to use luster dust and vodka due to religious reasons I cannot include alcohol in anything ).