White Cake

Business By rshippo Updated 23 Sep 2019 , 11:23pm by Laetia

rshippo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rshippo Posted 21 Sep 2019 , 10:51pm
post #1 of 11

Hi. 

I need advice I have been baking for 10 years.  Over the last 2 years I  have been having problems with my scratch white cake periodically customers have said they are dry. Happened again today and I’m at a loss for what the problem is. I have tried to account for all the variables. I thought it was the switch to propane gas. I weigh by gram, I mix by time, started cooking shorter tiers, set cakes up day they are baked, use a sugar syrup, made sure the butter is soft.

I’m truly at a loss as to what is going wrong, I’m so disheartened and frustrated at this point.  I hate that someone special occasion was ruined by a dry cake   I also wonder how many people have been unhappy and haven’t told me  

I’m beginning to think it’s time to switch to a commercial mix to help with consistency. Any suggestions on brands or what I could be doing wrong.  Any advice would be great 

10 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 22 Sep 2019 , 12:02am
post #2 of 11

do you use butter in the recipe -- do you refrigerate or freeze your cakes

rshippo Posted 22 Sep 2019 , 12:09am
post #3 of 11

Yes I use butter ( I thought this was a problem with it not being consistent soft Louisiana summer vs winter) but now make sure it is always soft 

no I don’t refrigerate or freeze cakes 

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 22 Sep 2019 , 2:25am
post #4 of 11

Since K8 hasn’t popped back in here I’ll tell you what she has advised others in the past:   Can the customers be putting the cake in the frig?   Scratch recipe that are made with butter can taste dry if refrigerated even after they come to room temp   She understands the science that I don’t & she prolly will post more info about it for you 

-K8memphis Posted 22 Sep 2019 , 3:22pm
post #5 of 11