Stacking Cakes

Baking By Ash-lee Updated 7 Aug 2019 , 6:05pm by kakeladi

Ash-lee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ash-lee Posted 7 Aug 2019 , 1:09pm
post #1 of 7

I am going to make a two-tier cake soon and it's my first time. I just want to find out if it's a must to put straws when stacking the cakes or i can get away with it if i don't put the straws?

6 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 7 Aug 2019 , 1:58pm
post #2 of 7

The only time one can get away without using supports is if the top tier is a 6” or smaller one because there is little weight to those small sizes    I know not everyone agrees with me on that   Some will insist that *every* cake that has more than one tier needs to be doweled    Some say to use one support for each inch of the cake going on top ie: 6 dowels to support a 6” cake   That is overkill   There is little cake left it’s so full of holes LOL   Three plastic drink straws placed in a triangle is more than enough to hold a small cake w/o a problem:)    I suggest you do research on this on YiuTube   There are many good videos to help you understand things like this 

Freckles0829 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Freckles0829 Posted 7 Aug 2019 , 3:15pm
post #3 of 7

I am a "better safe than sorry" type of person so I would suggest you use supports in your lower tier to hold the weight of the upper tier.  I do agree with kakeladi that 3 straws is enough to support the weight but me, personally, would be a panicky mess if I didn't use anything.  Not sure about other 6" round cakes, but mine definitely have some weight to them where I feel like they would 100% cause issues if not supported properly.