Trying To Bake A Jelly Donut Layer Cake

Baking By Bakingbat Updated 27 Jul 2019 , 5:20pm by MBalaska

Bakingbat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bakingbat Posted 25 Jul 2019 , 5:37am
post #1 of 12

So I wanted to surprise my sister this weekend with a jelly doughnut  layer cake, I have the design and filling planned out but I just can’t figure out how to make a “doughnut flavoured cake”. I’ve heard people using nutmeg and cinnamon to mimic the flavour but I wouldn’t know what amounts to use of those either. I’m new to cake baking, is there anyone who can help me out? Sorry if this question is a little confusing, this is my first time posting in the forums! Thanks all!

11 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 25 Jul 2019 , 1:26pm
post #2 of 12

Sorry I cannot help you w/that flavor   I just wanted to let you know that being new to this forum you will not be able to reply to any post so feel free to start a new post referring to this one if/when you have anything more to say    Good luck with finding the answer you are wanting 

kakeladi Posted 25 Jul 2019 , 1:39pm
post #3 of 12

Just did a quick google search—at least 8 or 10 recipe for donut cake   Most didn’t use either spice -one mentioned using 1/2tsp nutmeg; maybe 3-4 used yeast 

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 26 Jul 2019 , 1:02am
post #4 of 12

the main thing that makes doughnut a doughnut is that they are fried — cake is baked right so there’s a big difference right there —

so y’know what would taste like doughnuts? doughnuts! what about a layer of real donuts in there? but fried foods get soggy when they are enclosed like that — 

I think I would get some doughnut holes and use them for the bottom border— so they won’t get soggy  — 

what do you think?

-K8memphis Posted 26 Jul 2019 , 1:09am
post #5 of 12