What Is The Best Box Mix?

Baking By weluvpiggies Updated 24 Jul 2019 , 11:58pm by kakeladi

weluvpiggies Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
weluvpiggies Posted 23 Jul 2019 , 8:45pm
post #1 of 11

I'm only asking because I'm a gluten-free vegan baker and I'm baking a larger cake for my mom's 80th birthday and I think I should just make a wheat and eggs cake for them (I'll have gluten-free vegan cupcakes available).  However, I don't want to buy any wheat flour for just this cake.   And, I don't want to make practice cakes b/c I can't eat them. ;)

That said, what is the best box cake that you would recommend?

Thanks so much! :)

10 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 23 Jul 2019 , 8:52pm
post #2 of 11

I have used all three of the major brands and some off brands.  They are all similar but I keep going back to Betty Crocker for more consistent results - especially iwith this recipe:  https://www.cakecentral.com/recipe/7445/the-original-wasc-cake-recipe       It's a great cake especially for sightly larger cakes.  Good luck and happy baking :) 

weluvpiggies Posted 23 Jul 2019 , 10:32pm
post #3 of 11

Thanks so much, but it looks like you need to add an additional cup of flour and I was trying to avoid buying wheat flour. ;) 

ThatCakeDude42 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ThatCakeDude42 Posted 24 Jul 2019 , 9:55am
post #4 of 11

This doctored recipe makes a good cake and doesn't require extra flour. You can change it up by using different flavored mixes. Unless you're making a white cake, you can use 3 whole eggs instead of the 4 egg whites. https://www.cakecentral.com/recipe/1972/durable-cake-for-3d-and-wedding-cakes

Freckles0829 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Freckles0829 Posted 24 Jul 2019 , 12:02pm
post #5 of 11

If you don't want to purchase flour you could always ask friends/neighbors if they would be kind enough to give you a few cups if you wanted to try out the WASC receipe.