Collapsed Top Tier

Baking By sprinklegirl Updated 23 May 2019 , 10:05pm by ypierce82

sprinklegirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sprinklegirl Posted 22 May 2019 , 12:26am
post #1 of 9

I am a self-taught baker. I have made several tiered birthday cakes, but I made my first wedding cake this past weekend. It was a three tier cake with 6,” 9,” and 12” tiers. Each tier was three layers. I used American buttercream between the layers and Swiss buttercream on the outside. I used three dowels and threw bubble tea straws in the bottom and middle layers and cardboard cake rounds underneath the top and middle layers. I used a Cakesafe to transport the cake. The cake looked perfect upon delivery. I delivered the cake at 10:30 am and the wedding was at 4 pm. It was in an air conditioned barn. I just received an email from the bride, telling me that the top tier of the cake collapsed. I’m looking for advice. Should I refund the bride? Also, I have another wedding cake this weekend, and I don’t want to repeat this disaster. I have attached both the picture of the cake after I delivered it and the picture that the bride sent me. Collapsed Top TierCollapsed Top Tier

8 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 22 May 2019 , 1:41am
post #2 of 9

Reread your post and see you did use a board so ignore my 1st reply:)   I see only 1pic w/no damage  That is a long time for a cake to be left unattended   Someone could have bumped it or otherwise fussed with it   It sounds like you did most everything right   In any case a full refund is NOT required   Maybe offer to make a new top tier for their anniversary The only other thing that might have caused problems would be if you placed all the support/straws in the cake cutting them flush   What needs to be done is to place one then use it to cut all the others that same size 

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 22 May 2019 , 1:46am
post #3 of 9