Rosette Cake Pricing???

Decorating By av2016 Updated 15 May 2019 , 6:24pm by KitchenSix

av2016 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
av2016 Posted 9 May 2019 , 7:31pm
post #1 of 6

I am making a 9 inch-3 layer no filling cake completely covered in rosettes/pearls for a party. I typically charge $50 for a cake with basic decor. Should I included this rosette decor or should I charge more for it?

Any tips help as I am fairly new at this! 

How much extra should I charge??

Thank you!!

5 replies
Freckles0829 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Freckles0829 Posted 9 May 2019 , 7:45pm
post #2 of 6

I would consider rosettes to be under the category of "basic decor."  I don't consider them any more time consuming then icing a cake to a smooth perfection and adding piped borders or other easy decor.

But just to make sure in regards to your pricing, a 9" cake serves up to 32 people if cut correctly so if you are only charging $50 that is $1.60/serving.  Of course pricing varies from location to location, but that, to me, seems on the low side even for a less expensive locale.  I just want to make sure that you are including all costs for supplies/ingredients, any overhead costs and also labor costs, as well as researching other local bakers in your area, in your per serving price so that you aren't just giving away or worse, paying someone, to take your product.  If you are, and your price comes out o $1.60/serving, then perfect.  If not, you may need to revisit your pricing.

SandraSmiley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandraSmiley Posted 14 May 2019 , 6:01pm
post #3 of 6

The price sounds a bit low to me also.  A rosette cake is easy and quick to make, but it does use a lot more frosting, so you might (especially since your pricing is very low) consider charging an extra $10.

bubs1stbirthday Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bubs1stbirthday Posted 15 May 2019 , 12:10am
post #4 of 6

I agree, that is super cheap and barely covering costs.