Bake Sale Help

Business By Jessica32 Updated 8 Apr 2019 , 5:45pm by Jessica32

Jessica32 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jessica32 Posted 8 Apr 2019 , 1:14am
post #1 of 7

I have a home bakery and am planning a day to set up at my aunts hair salon, which has a lot of traffic, to sell cupcakes. I have chosen some of my most popular frosting flavors along with some new flavors: strawberry, oreo, peanut butter, coffee, salted caramel, coconut (on pineapple cupcakes), kahula (on kahula cupcakes), vanilla and chocolate. I want have individual cupcakes of each flavor available as well as variety packs in 4 and 6 count. This is my first time doing anything like this and I have no idea how many to make of each flavor. I've posted about the event on my facebook page and have received a few orders. I haven't gotten much other feedback, though one person did show up at the salon asking for cupcakes earlier this week..apparently they didn't read my post well enough. Each cupcake will be sold for $1.50 and I have a couple deals as well: each person that places an order by a certain date is entered to win a cake I will have as a display and for every 1/2 dozen order they receive a free cupcake frosted with chocolate or vanilla buttercream. I'm just trying to create a good opportunity to really put my name out there in the community. 

Anyone have experience with farmers market-type sales, I assume this is essentially the same sort of thing. How many should I plan on making?

My mom and I started this bakery together just for a fun pass-time, she was good at the business part (as well as baking!) and I at the baking and decorating. She has since passed away and I really lack a person to reach out to regarding such advice.

6 replies
SandraSmiley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandraSmiley Posted 8 Apr 2019 , 3:23am
post #2 of 7