Shoulder Injuries?

Lounge By Kayley84 Updated 25 Mar 2019 , 12:44am by SandraSmiley

Kayley84 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kayley84 Posted 24 Mar 2019 , 1:31am
post #1 of 5

Hi I’ve been a baker for around 3 years now, I mostly specialize in cake pops. I have early  degenerative cervical disc disease, and I have problems with arm/hand numbness and tingling (used to just be at night, now it’s randomly though the day as well) .  This past week I have been struggling with cracking and popping in my shoulder, and aching inside it. Do you think this could be baking related?? I am just now finally getting my business closer to where I want it to be, but I’m getting nervous that this is going to be a big problem. I’m a home baker, so I cannot just pass things off to someone else to do them. 

Does anyone  know if my shoulder pain could be from overuse when rolling cake pops? I do roll them all by hand. Any recommendations on how to treat? I have quite a few orders this week, plus an actual job in the evening so I cannot just rest :( 

4 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 24 Mar 2019 , 3:08pm
post #2 of 5

idk -- I have rheumatoid and I can't do much in the way of caking at all -- coming from where i'm at -- I would say to stop with the business for now, take care of yourself and if necessary get another line of work -- you don't want to get stuck on nasty meds with side effects worse than the reason you take them in the first place -- it sounds like you might have some neuropathy possibly carpal tunnel -- no es bueno, mi amiga -- anxiety and not resting make it worse -- sorry -- but nip it in the bud is the trillion dollar advice!!!