Cookies Doughy On The Bottom

Baking By ash333 Updated 14 Mar 2019 , 1:26pm by -K8memphis

ash333 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ash333 Posted 7 Mar 2019 , 11:24pm
post #1 of 42

I'm only new to baking, and have just baked my third batch of sugar cookies, and each time they're still slightly under cooked on the bottom (edible and tasty, but obviously not what I want to present to others). The first two times I thought it was my oven because it's not working to it's full potential, so I tried my second oven (which works fine) and the same thing happened. I'm wondering if maybe it's the fact I'm using parchment paper. Should I try baking on a cookie sheet without paper?

41 replies
Jenny BakesAlot Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jenny BakesAlot Posted 8 Mar 2019 , 12:11am
post #2 of 42

Could it be the pan you are using?  When I use my Pampered Chef cookie sheet (heavy gauge aluminized steel), it takes longer for the cookies to bake, and they never really brown at all underneath.

ash333 Posted 8 Mar 2019 , 12:36am
post #3 of 42

It could be! I just made another batch with a different cookie sheet. This time the bottom was a little golden brown on the edges, but the middle looked a little doughy/underdone. I even decreased the temperature and increased cooking time. Very frustrating as I have to make some for a baby shower in a week. I guess I'll be trying different recipes and techniques to get it right until then. 

ash333 Posted 8 Mar 2019 , 12:51am
post #4 of 42

I just did finished another batch without parchment paper, just straight on the cookie sheet cooked at a lower temp for 5 mins longer.They seemed to be the best cooked of the lot. It's crazy how the smallest little details can make such a difference.

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 8 Mar 2019 , 2:47am
post #5 of 42

it is crazy -- glad you got it figured out blush

ash333 Posted 8 Mar 2019 , 2:56am
post #6 of 42