Glucose Syrup Vs Corn Syrup For Attaching Fondant

Decorating By ash333 Updated 7 Mar 2019 , 9:23pm by ash333

ash333 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ash333 Posted 6 Mar 2019 , 5:56am
post #1 of 13

I notice many of you here recommend corn syrup for attaching fondant to cookies. Corn syrup isn't readily available in Australia, so I was just wondering if anyone has used glucose syrup in the same way/as a glue to attach fondant to cookies (I know it's a little thicker than corn syrup)? 

12 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 6 Mar 2019 , 6:40am
post #2 of 13

Sounds like it would be a good substitute although I have no experience with it   Good luck with that 

ash333 Posted 6 Mar 2019 , 7:01am
post #3 of 13

Thanks Kakeladi! How do you normally attach edible pearls? I have some sugar flower glue that I use to attach fondant to fondant, you think that'd work for the pearls too?

ash333 Posted 6 Mar 2019 , 7:04am
post #4 of 13

Sorry for all my questions! I'm fairly new at this, and since I have a big cookie order coming up I want to do everything "correctly" (if there's even such a thing). I appreciate all your (and everyone else's help) :)

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 6 Mar 2019 , 2:53pm
post #5 of 13

No need to apologize at all   That’ what us “old-timers” are here for:)    Fondant  let down with water — aka gum glue — is mostly what I have used   I’ve done little more than top cookies w/fondant so I just put it on the hot cookies as soon as they come out of the oven   Do you have a picture of your finished cookies?  (What you are striving for)  Maybe if I saw one I could help you better   Don’t know if you have time issues — thought I’d let you know I won’t be online much today so if someone else can jump in with help great 

SandraSmiley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandraSmiley Posted 6 Mar 2019 , 3:14pm
post #6 of 13