Giraffe Cake Help!

Sugar Work By Clemclom Updated 20 Feb 2019 , 7:33pm by SandraSmiley

Clemclom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Clemclom Posted 19 Feb 2019 , 8:48pm
post #1 of 6

Hello! I am a complete novice when it comes to making cakes (and drawing for that matter!) and wondered if any kind people may be able to help me with what I need to make the attached creation. My nearly 3 year old is desperate for a giraffe cake and has been for months. I really don’t want to let her down so if anyone could be kind enough to suggest what I use to make the various bits on this cake I would SO appreciate it! Many thanks.Giraffe Cake Help!

5 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 19 Feb 2019 , 9:19pm
post #2 of 6

It can be covered/iced in buttercream or fondant as you like,  The giraffe can be made from fondant or gumpaste.  I work mostly w/fondant.  You can add some Tylose powder (Wilton's Gum Paste Mix - dry powder).  Depending on how much fondant you start with it won't take much to 'tighten' it up enough to allow it to dry well.   I usually just dip the fondant into the dry p;owder and knead it in until it feels 'tight'.  I doubt it's more than a 1/3 teaspoon to a cup of fondant.   The 'leaves' on the sides can be piped w/b'cream using tip #65 or maybe 67 or any leaf tip you might have.   The sports probably can be painted on w/food coloring - mix it w/some Vodka or lemon extract.  Don't be concerned w/Vodka for a child - the amount used it very minimal and it evaporates - quickly :)    BTW:  Your drawing isvery good!  Mucgh better than mine :)

SandraSmiley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandraSmiley Posted 20 Feb 2019 , 4:47am
post #3 of 6