Does Anyone Else Hate This As Much As I Do?

Baking By Dar917 Updated 27 Dec 2018 , 9:43pm by mahtc2016

Dar917 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dar917 Posted 26 Dec 2018 , 1:03am
post #1 of 13

Hi all, I currently work in a bakery where I get to do a lot with cookies and cakes and stuff, which is fine and all but I have so many recipes I want to try out at home, but I don't have a lot of time to do baking at home. I usually can make something about once a week. But this year I haven't been able to make any Christmas cookies for my family at all. We live with my mom, and some of her friends/clients like to give her big cookie trays around the holidays, and I really wish they wouldn't. We just got another big box of cookies from someone yesterday. And like, everybody I know knows I'm a baker and my mom tells anyone who will listen about my cakes. (And yet nobody ever orders anything from me, which is another rant for another time.) I know they mean well, and some of them have nothing better to do. Or when people buy things from the store that I could make myself (and do better). I'm also diabetic though, so I don't want to have too much sweets sitting around all the time. I just feel like I have this itch that I can't scratch and it drives me crazy.

Anybody else get this?

12 replies
SandraSmiley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandraSmiley Posted 26 Dec 2018 , 1:14am
post #2 of 13

I am retired and there is no reason that I cannot bake all day long every day EXCEPT that Mike and I would weigh 1,000 pounds each!  I find so, so many things I want to bake, but we just cannot eat it all.  I do carry treats to the neighbors all the time (banana bread and gingersnap cookies just a couple of hours ago), but that can't afford all the extra calories either.  I have carried cakes to my dentist office, veternarian, police dept., etc.

Dar917 Posted 26 Dec 2018 , 3:03am
post #3 of 13