Gum Paste Is Not Smooth

Sugar Work By kees2u2 Updated 13 Jul 2018 , 1:54am by TruCake

kees2u2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kees2u2 Posted 12 Jul 2018 , 5:40am
post #1 of 7

Hi... I'm new to baking..started 6 months ago and LOVE IT!

I made my own gumpaste with egg whites and tylose powder.... And im making a 3D figurine but the paste is not smooth...its not that its cracking or dry...but its so rubbery that you can see where it folds....I was not able to make a smooth ball...you can still see lines... I did tried the 50% fondant and 50% gum paste....still the same problem. HELP!!! What am i doing wrong? 

6 replies
TruCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TruCake Posted 12 Jul 2018 , 1:09pm
post #2 of 7

Sounds like you need to knead it more.  I use our MMF and add tylos. But sometimes you just need to keep kneading. Also you can make it softer by putting in microwave for 5 seconds at a time to soften. Making warm makes softer, softer makes smooth. 

We dont use egg whites due to the health issue and everything we do is edible.

I am sure you will get other great advise to try here as well.

Good Luck!

jchuck Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jchuck Posted 12 Jul 2018 , 7:34pm
post #3 of 7

TruCake I don’t know your gumpaste recipe, so hard to help. I never use egg whites in my gumpaste recipe unless they are pasteurized egg whites. And I only make that type of gumpaste for making flowers. I too, for models/figures, just use fondant with tylose powder added. Easiest, most economical, great workability and dries fast.

TruCake Posted 13 Jul 2018 , 1:25am
post #4 of 7

jchuck, I was responding to kees2u2 issues using egg whites in her gumpaste.  She was having the issues with Gumpaste not being smooth..  We make a standard MMF and make our gumpaste from there w/ tylos.  Your right about drying quickly.  

Thanks for trying to help me! :)

SandraSmiley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandraSmiley Posted 13 Jul 2018 , 1:34am
post #5 of 7