Wedding Cake Questions--Need Help Asap Please!

Decorating By TheElegantEmerald Updated 25 Jun 2018 , 7:38pm by cai0311

TheElegantEmerald Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TheElegantEmerald Posted 21 Jun 2018 , 7:14pm
post #1 of 8

The wedding cake is generously semi-naked, and I made a practice cake just to be safe, and came up with a few questions...

I am a hobby baker, and level my cakes, but do not consistently measure the height. (although I will now :)  My typical 8" cakes are around 5 inches tall, so I ordered the SPS 5" columns with the 2" add ons. However, my base tier came up short of even the add ons (4.5" put together).  So.....I need to either make my cake taller, or buy the EZ cut columns. I typically do 3 layers of cake, and could add an extra layer for height.  My questions are:

1) Would it look weird to have the base tier with 4 layers and the rest with three layers?  (the height of the other tiers was perfect)

2)  Does having 4 layers impact the stability at all?

3)  Would the EZ cut SPS columns be the way to go, and do they still offer the same stability?

4)  If I were to go the EZ cut route, what do you typically cut them with?

Thanks in advance!

7 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 22 Jun 2018 , 12:37pm
post #2 of 8

Quote by @TheElegantEmerald on 17 hours ago

The wedding cake is generously semi-naked, and I made a practice cake just to be safe, and came up with a few questions...

I am a hobby baker, and level my cakes, but do not consistently measure the height. (although I will now :)  My typical 8" cakes are around 5 inches tall, so I ordered the SPS 5" columns with the 2" add ons. However, my base tier came up short of even the add ons (4.5" put together).  So.....I need to either make my cake taller, or buy the EZ cut columns. I typically do 3 layers of cake, and could add an extra layer for height.  My questions are: