Experts..what Size/height Are These Tiers?

Baking By soldiernurse Updated 14 Jun 2018 , 2:15am by soldiernurse

soldiernurse Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
soldiernurse Posted 12 Jun 2018 , 10:35am
post #1 of 29

I'm a hobby baker-asked to  make this cake for a friend's wedding but I cannot figure out the width/ht of this cake. Also, she wants the bottom fake but all buttercream. Ok to cover the Styrofoam with buttercream?Experts..what Size/height Are These Tiers? Any advice PLEASE help! 

28 replies
thecanadian160 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
thecanadian160 Posted 12 Jun 2018 , 12:47pm
post #2 of 29

That looks like a 4-6-8-10" tiered cake to me. Since I have only ever made one Styrofoam dummy, I don't think I will be much help giving advice on whether or not BC is kosher to use. My gut says that it should work just fine but I could be wrong. 

soldiernurse Posted 12 Jun 2018 , 1:05pm
post #3 of 29

How tall do you think each tier is?

Freckles0829 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Freckles0829 Posted 12 Jun 2018 , 1:27pm
post #4 of 29

I would say each tier is about 6" high.  So probably a 3 layered cake for each tier.

To get an idea of the final look you want you can always go to a craft store and stack Styrofoam rounds.

soldiernurse Posted 12 Jun 2018 , 3:27pm
post #5 of 29

good idea! thx for everyone's help..

soldiernurse Posted 12 Jun 2018 , 3:28pm
post #6 of 29

Can I buttercream the Styrofoam?

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 12 Jun 2018 , 3:31pm
post #7 of 29

yes no problem

soldiernurse Posted 12 Jun 2018 , 4:38pm
post #8 of 29

any special prep?

-K8memphis Posted 12 Jun 2018 , 4:56pm
post #9 of 29

no -- just ice like you would a cake -- make sure you attach the icing well -- press down good -- easy peasy -- no worries

soldiernurse Posted 12 Jun 2018 , 5:23pm
post #10 of 29

@K8memphis-----thx! sooo much--and thx everyone for taking the time out of your busy day!