Frosting/ Filling Ideas For A Chocolate Cabernet Wedding Cake?

Decorating By lindacarol6 Updated 7 Jun 2018 , 10:06pm by -K8memphis

lindacarol6 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lindacarol6 Posted 4 Jun 2018 , 3:20pm
post #1 of 6

I am a home baker and am baking a couple 3 tier wedding cakes for son's wedding at the end of the month. Cannot get a straight answer about where cakes will sit and the whole refrigeration thing so not using SMBC or anything "meltable" . Bride and groom have no preferences re: cake flavors, colors, decor.  Cake 1 is decided: southern pineapple poundcake with more pineapple filling, white balsamic crisco-cream and MMF.   Cake 2: I made chocolate almond sour cream cake and substituted good cabernet for the water and used chocolate flavoring instead of almond and vanilla, I brushed  with a cabernet/simple sugar syrup and it is really delicious.  But I am at a loss for a filling and frosting. I am afraid basic american buttercream will be too cloying and overpower the cake.  I assumed I will use fondant, probably satin ice chocolate, but maybe my MMF.   

Any ideas?

5 replies
SandraSmiley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandraSmiley Posted 4 Jun 2018 , 10:56pm
post #2 of 6

Why not just go with a ganache filling, so as not to muddle the flavors.  BTW, what a brillianbt idea.  Red wine and chocolate are such a divine combination and I will definitely be trying it!  Thanks!

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 5 Jun 2018 , 5:52pm
post #3 of 6

I think it needs some light fluffy cream stuff in there to provide a foil/contrast for the hearty lovely choco/wine flavors -- just find something easy to handle like -- oh what's that stuff my jewish friends use -- you buy it frozen and whip it and it's shelf stable -- can't think of the name -- someone might pipe up with it -- 

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 7 Jun 2018 , 10:00pm
post #4 of 6