Another Cake Bulge/air Bubble Question. Please Help.

Decorating By Julie5 Updated 4 Jun 2018 , 12:45am by SandraSmiley

Julie5 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Julie5 Posted 22 May 2018 , 12:52am
post #1 of 20

Hello all!

I know this question has been asked a million times and I apologize for repeating it again but I'm hoping if I provide more details about my situation then it will help someone solve it for me! 

I am only a hobby baker, so I don't bake but maybe 2 cakes a month. Because of this, sometimes its hard for me to tell what the issue is when things go wrong. .lol In my last 4 cakes or so, I've gotten those awful dreaded bulges in the side of my cakes. I haven't changed anything about the way I do cakes is the thing. It just seems like they started happening. Here's my process: I bake a few days before an event, cool then freeze my cakes after wrapping in 97 layers of plastic wrap, foil and freezer bags. lol. Then a few days before the event, I bring them out as I need them and fill and crumb coat with american buttercream. My recipe uses half butter, half hi ratio shortening, if that helps. I rough ice the cakes after filling and they go straight in the fridge. My process always has my cakes in the fridge when I'm not working on them. I'm lucky that my fridge doesn't condensate. I usually put the tiers in the fridge overnight to let them settle. and I NEVER have seen a bubble or bulge happen at this point. They always look just like they did when they went in. I next final ice my cakes smooth. I don't use fondant to cover cakes in, although I have dabbled lately in stripes, figures, etc. After I final ice, they go back in the fridge until the event, which is either that day or the next. I always let them get good and cold though. My buttercream doesn't really crust, but it gets firm again, which I like dealing with. I usually take the cakes out just before an event and thats it. Never had issues. .For years. Then the last 4 or so, I've had issues. I