Wedding Cake - 400 Servings! Help Me!

Decorating By dillluvsbaking Updated 4 days ago by TruCake

dillluvsbaking Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dillluvsbaking Posted 6 days ago
post #1 of 9

Hey Fellow Decorators!

I was asked to make a cake later this Fall in October for a friends wedding and she requested it be enough to serve about 400 people. 

The design is very simple (I’ll attach pics) but my main concern is figuring out how much cake and what sizes to do. The pictures below only show the cake as a 3-tier cake which makes me concerned because I’ve never done a cake this big before. She didn’t mention me making sheet cakes or even cupcakes for the back so I’m going with just the main cake here. 

Any advice? I’d really appreciate it! Also, what would y’all say I charge for something like this? This will be made from home and from scratch so I’ll obviously incorporate materials and utilities from home into the cost but I want more opinions. 

Thanks! Wedding Cake - 400 Servings! Help Me!Wedding Cake - 400 Servings! Help Me!

8 replies
dillluvsbaking Posted 6 days ago
post #2 of 9

Also please note I’m not a beginner if I come across that way! I have done many cakes before and by “size” I mean for the serving amount! I’ve made dozens of cakes before but never for 400 people! 

Thanks again! 

me_me1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
me_me1 Posted 6 days ago
post #3 of 9

Hello!

The cost of the two cakes will be quite different as one's just a semi-naked and the other has the fondant work involved.

Will the 400 guests be having dessert size portions or coffee size portions? This will determine how big your tier sizes need to be. I just posted a pic of the table I use to work out how big a cake I need to make in another thread...  I'll find that....

me_me1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
me_me1 Posted 6 days ago
post #4 of 9

I know there are other charts out there (Wilton/Earlene/etc) but this is the one I tend to use - works for me!