How Many Mini Cupcakes + Transport

Business By Muffinsbymoonlight Updated 10 May 2018 , 4:55pm by kakeladi

Muffinsbymoonlight Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Muffinsbymoonlight Posted 10 May 2018 , 4:11am
post #1 of 3

I’m very new to the home bakery business and of course my first order is a big one! I’ve been asked to cater mini cupcakes for about 115 people. The bride and groom want 5 (yes five) different flavors... What I’m stuck on is how many miniature cupcakes would be appropriate for that number of people? Should I make equal amounts of each flavor or prioritize flavors that would be more widely preffered? I know some folks may not want any at all while others may take half a dozen!  Anyone have advice? The flavors they chose are chocolate peanut butter, honey vanilla, maple bacon bourbon, key lime pie, and  pumpkin spice.   Also I have to transport them almost 100 miles to the event...pointers on transporting mini cupcakes would be greatly appreciated as well

2 replies
Freckles0829 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Freckles0829 Posted 10 May 2018 , 3:38pm
post #2 of 3

How big will your mini cupcakes be?  Will they be about half the size of a regular cupcake?  Or will they be more like a third of the size of a regular cupcake?  Depending on how small you are going you will want to do 2-3 mini cupcakes per person, so you will need a total of 230-345 cupcakes.  People are more apt to eat more when there are a variety of flavors to try as opposed if there are only one or two flavors so having extras in this case would be a good idea.

As for how to split up the flavors you are going to have to go with your gut.  I, personally, would just do an even split because you never know what people will really be into and since you have a nice variety of flavors I think people may want to try one of each instead of eating 3 of just the chocolate peanut butter.  Know what I mean?