American Buttercream Is Too Slippery/not Stiff

Decorating By saadi Updated 4 Aug 2020 , 11:55pm by saadi

saadi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
saadi Posted 5 May 2018 , 10:25am
post #1 of 8

Hi all! So I’m a novice baker and I’m still learning so plz don’t judge me too harshly lol anything I did I found on the www. Anyway I made American buttercream using wickedgoodkitchens recipe which was basically to mix PS and boiling water until the ps is basically like dissolved and then add butter and shortening (and salt and vanilla). Not sure what I did wrong (although it’s getting hotter here in Cincinnati so I’m not sure if it’s the kitchen temp) but the frosting is just too slippery. If I pick it on my spatula it’s slides off. I’ve added more sugar and some cornstarch mixed in milk and without milk (lol

7 replies
thecanadian160 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
thecanadian160 Posted 5 May 2018 , 12:23pm
post #2 of 8

I'm thinking you added too much liquid to the mixture. Depending on the consistency you could add PS until it firms up, but without seeing it I'm not 100% sure that would work. 

louglou Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
louglou Posted 5 May 2018 , 2:02pm
post #3 of 8

I’ve never seen an American buttercream where you dissolve the icing sugar. 

It’s usually made by beating the butter then adding double the amount of icing sugar (by weight). Add cream or milk to thin it and then vanilla and salt to taste. 

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 5 May 2018 , 6:20pm
post #4 of 8

I agree w/louglou - have never heard of an ABC where you dissolve the icing sugar.   I bet you would be much happier using this recipe:  https://www.cakecentral.com/recipe/22469/2-icing

SandraSmiley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandraSmiley Posted 3 Aug 2020 , 1:37pm
post #5 of 8