Any Advice Please Xx

Business By Kirstio Updated 15 May 2018 , 1:29am by me_me1

Kirstio Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kirstio Posted 29 Apr 2018 , 8:14am
post #1 of 11

Hi

ive been making cakes for a few years and like most people started off with my children's birthday cakes and then began making them for friend etc.

its got so crazy that I need to think about setting up as a business but I have no idea where to start?

im so busy that I don't want to advertise but guess I still need name/cake page etc??

Also I have no idea about pricing? Some people say I charge way too low but some friends never get back to me when I mention a price as if it's too much?

ill try and attatch some pics if I can 

Any advice would be greatly appreciated 

thanks 

Any Advice Please XxAny Advice Please XxAny Advice Please XxAny Advice Please XxAny Advice Please XxAny Advice Please XxAny Advice Please XxAny Advice Please Xx

10 replies
SandraSmiley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandraSmiley Posted 29 Apr 2018 , 3:14pm
post #2 of 11

Your cakes look great, but you didn't mention your pricing, so there is no way to know if you are charging too little.  Don't be surprised at being accused by some people of over charging, even when you are seriously under pricing your cakes.  There are lots of people out there who think you owe them your time, sweat and money, just because they want it.  You do not need them in your life, so don't give them a second thought.

You must calculate the cost of ingredients and other expenses incurred during the process of making a cake, then add in a decent salary for yourself, based upon how long it takes to make the cake (including delivery, etc.)  Don't be surprised if you find you are underpricing your work.  Most people do, in the beginning. 

cakefan92 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakefan92 Posted 29 Apr 2018 , 3:32pm
post #3 of 11