Box Or From Scratch

Baking By bortiz0810 Updated 8 Mar 2018 , 11:09pm by bubs1stbirthday

bortiz0810 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bortiz0810 Posted 8 Mar 2018 , 3:34pm
post #1 of 10

Hi I'm new at baking and wondered if any one makes cakes from a mix or is this forum solely from scratch? I have tried making a cake from scratch several times but the taste is always a little off. When I use a cake mix everyone raves about them. I have to make a birthday cake this weekend (nothing fancy) and wondered if you can freeze a box cake like you can a from scratch cake? Thanks everyone!!

9 replies
MBalaska Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MBalaska Posted 8 Mar 2018 , 4:22pm
post #2 of 10

https://www.cakecentral.com/forum/t/761922/no-one-yet-knows-the-difference-between-store-box-mix-and-scratch-cakes-why-bother

I asked the exact same question when I first arrived, now I know that it's all good!  I've tried them all, and they all have a place for someone somewhere and you should try them all.blush

SandraSmiley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandraSmiley Posted 8 Mar 2018 , 4:30pm
post #3 of 10

Exactly as MBalaska said, they are all good and most (even professionals) people use both at one time or another.  One of the most widely used recipes in the cake decorating world is kakeladi's Original WASC (White Almoond Sour Cream), which is what is called a doctored cake mix.  Really there are more added ingredients thank there is cake mix, and it is divine!  It can be adapted to just about any flavor and is sturdy enough for easy stacking and carving.  One of my favorite recipes and the only one I use that isn't a scratch recipe.  Her recipe is posted on this site.

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 8 Mar 2018 , 6:34pm
post #4 of 10