How To Get To A Full Time Business - Looking For Advice

Business By snack_arts Updated 16 Feb 2018 , 3:40pm by -K8memphis

snack_arts Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
snack_arts Posted 16 Feb 2018 , 2:24pm
post #1 of 2

Coles notes background: I've been really into baking for about 15 years now. I've sold a few cakes and gingerbread houses I've made from home but I haven't been able to push farther than that.

(jump down to the bold below if you want to skip the preamble)

About 10 years ago, I went through the whole process of setting up a business plan and right from there, I could tell I was in over my head. I was working in retail and just making ends meet so I had no chance of qualifying for a loan to set up a whole business and no experience in any of the business aspects.

I went back to school for web design and I've been doing that for 7 years now, but I just can't get baking out of my system. I have so many more skills than I had before that would help me with advertising like making websites, social media advertising, creating branding collateral, making and editing videos, photography...

But I still don't have the money to put into getting that first jump mostly because of the laws around baking from a home kitchen (I live in an apartment and have cats).

I've recently had a couple of ideas on how to get started:

• the local farmers' market doesn't require an inspected kitchen for some food items (I could do cookies)
  • there is a commercial kitchen I could rent

The farmers' market is the lowest cost of entry I can think of. I can't afford to start up a retail location business. A food truck is totally out of budget (but cheaper to start up than a building location).

But the largest problem I still come up against is this: how can a one-man show produce enough to make a full time business?

• for cake businesses that operate full time - how many cakes a week to you have to product to make a profit?