aprilfromLa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aprilfromLa Posted 2 Oct 2017 , 6:12pm
post #1 of 16

Help Please How To Decorate Thismy 72 

15 replies
aprilfromLa Posted 2 Oct 2017 , 6:37pm
post #2 of 16

Man I screwed this post all up. Sorry. My 72 year old aunt is getting married at the end of October. I'm far from a pro but she begged me to make this for her groom. I personally wish she hadn't asked or at least gave me something easier but it is what it is. He wants chocolate cake with chocolate icing. No fondant. How to I decorate this to keep the details of the train???  Would some kind of poured icing work?

SandraSmiley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandraSmiley Posted 2 Oct 2017 , 9:09pm
post #3 of 16

I would use a tiny star tip to cover the train (brown part), then make all the colored accents from fondant, which could easily be removed before eating.  You could also make the accents withthe small star tip, but they would not be quite as well defined.

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 3 Oct 2017 , 12:09am
post #4 of 16

Yah, what Sandra said.  I was going to say the same thing but thought some people don't like star-fill-in work and think it to be the lowest level of decorating....but done nicely w/a small tip it can be very nice.

SandraSmiley Posted 3 Oct 2017 , 12:30am
post #5 of 16

LOL, @kakeladi ‍ , that's because so few people can actually pipe anymore!  To me, it is the highest form of cake decorating and by far the most difficult!

aprilfromLa Posted 3 Oct 2017 , 12:33am
post #6 of 16

My hands hurt just thinking about doing this cake, been having pain in my joints.  Hopefully I can pull this off! I'm gonna practice this week. I told my aunt I read that this cake serves 12. So now she asked if I can make a sheet cake for this to sit on. 

kakeladi Posted 3 Oct 2017 , 12:38am
post #7 of 16