Newbie Trying To Get Sharp Edgesgell

Decorating By Madam_Antoinette Updated 2 Aug 2017 , 4:35pm by Madam_Antoinette

Madam_Antoinette Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Madam_Antoinette Posted 18 Jul 2017 , 8:52pm
post #1 of 22

Hello, I am a newbie! My question is about achieving sharp edges. Now I bake my cakes let them settle and I'll frost them and put in the refrigerator for it to firm up... 1. how long do you leave your cakes in the fridge to firm before putting fondant on? 

2. After taking cake out of the fridge do you immediately cover with fondant or bring to room temperature?

3. How do you avoid the cake sweating? Should I leave my air conditioner on while covering with fondant?

21 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 18 Jul 2017 , 9:20pm
post #2 of 22

Hello and welcome:)  I'll try to answer some of your ?s.

1) I do not chill my cakes to get the crumb coat to 'firm up'.  Never have.  My crumb coat will dry to the touch within 2-5 minutes all onit's own.

2) A crumb coat should be damp/'wet' in order for the fondant to stick to it.   I always add the fondant as soon as I finish cxrumb coating.  If for some reason it has dried I give it a quick spritz of water to dampen it again.  Or add another coat of icing.

3) There is really no way to advoid cake sweating.   I do live in a hot location (has been up to 102-106 for the last 15 days w/another week of the same  predicted) so I would not chill a cake.  Working at room temp helps prevent some, if not all, sweating.   Of course when it is hot/humid leave the AC on while covering w/any icing .  Once a cake is completed then it can/should be chilled before transporting.  Yes, it wll sweat but if it is not touched that will evaporate w/o any problems.  If possible box each tier before chilling.  This will cut down on the amount of sweating. 

Madam_Antoinette Posted 18 Jul 2017 , 11:01pm
post #3 of 22