Flowers On Cakes

Baking By Cakesbybliss Updated 14 Jun 2017 , 1:40pm by Cakesbybliss

Cakesbybliss Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakesbybliss Posted 12 Jun 2017 , 7:31am
post #1 of 11

Hello :) 

lately I've been having many clients requesting for a mix of different flowers (they'd often show me a picture). How does everyone here charge if there are very few flowers but a mix of different variety? To your florist do you just ask for a mixed bouquet? Sorry I'm really new to adding real flowers

10 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 12 Jun 2017 , 10:19pm
post #2 of 11

You're talking real flowers??   Have the client specificed which flowers?   Actually whenever fresh flowers are required on a cake I make sure the bride knows that's the responsibility of her & the florist . 

Cakesbybliss Posted 12 Jun 2017 , 10:43pm
post #3 of 11

Oh okay. So you would pick them up yourself and the bride would place the order?

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 12 Jun 2017 , 11:05pm
post #4 of 11

No the bride orders them and the florist bring  the to the venue.  I always tried to coordinate the time so I placed them.  Do not put any stems into the cake unless they have been wrapped w/floral tape or dipped into melted chocolate or you have placed a straw in the cake & the stems go in that.  I usually would put a piece of wet cotton in the straw before placing the stem in.

Cakesbybliss Posted 12 Jun 2017 , 11:08pm
post #5 of 11

Okay :) thank you very much!

640Cake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
640Cake Posted 13 Jun 2017 , 1:06pm
post #6 of 11

Just ask your bride and give options.  The few weddings I have done did not have a florist to coordinate with, so on a few cakes, I ordered the flowers (and charged for them AND my time to get them) and then others opted to leave me the flowers on the cake table at the venue for placement.