Vanilla Bean

Baking By inthekitchen2 Updated 13 Mar 2017 , 7:28am by peilinl

inthekitchen2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
inthekitchen2 Posted 26 Feb 2017 , 9:35pm
post #1 of 22

I have a customer who wants a "vanilla bean" flavored cake. I've never used vanilla beans before, just thought they probably weren't worth the expense. But, since she is asking directly, can you give me some tips? Just scrape the bean in the batter? How much is equivalent to vanilla extract? I am pretty sure she asked for "vanilla bean" frosting before, and I just used vanilla extract like usual, and she was happy with it, but since it's in the cake this time, maybe she wants to see the flecks?

21 replies
jchuck Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jchuck Posted 26 Feb 2017 , 11:18pm
post #2 of 22

inthekitchen2 

I don't know where you are located. But you can buy Lorann's vanilla bean flavouring which is full of real vanilla bean. Buying a bottle, even without a coupon, it's cheaper than buying real vanilla bean. Just a suggestion.

640Cake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
640Cake Posted 27 Feb 2017 , 4:04pm
post #3 of 22

I use vanilla bean paste and just sub equal amounts for the extract.

kryptonite Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kryptonite Posted 27 Feb 2017 , 4:45pm
post #4 of 22

Another vote for the vanilla bean paste...love that stuff!

inthekitchen2 Posted 27 Feb 2017 , 5:18pm
post #5 of 22

I never knew there were other options. Where would I buy the paste? Does it have the black flecks in it?

kryptonite Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kryptonite Posted 27 Feb 2017 , 5:23pm
post #6 of 22

Yes, it does have the flecks in it. Here it is on Amazon, but I can find it cheaper locally (at Sur la Table or Williams Sonoma) https://www.amazon.com/Nielsen-Massey-Madagascar-Bourbon-Vanilla/dp/B003L259AU?th=1

inthekitchen2 Posted 27 Feb 2017 , 5:28pm
post #7 of 22

Awesome! Thank you!

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 4 Mar 2017 , 5:18pm