Beyondbuttercream White Cake (Confuse)

Baking By yste Updated 15 Jan 2017 , 2:43am by yste

yste Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yste Posted 14 Jan 2017 , 10:38pm
post #1 of 5

This is a great recipe. Ive been making it for 3 years with great results,moist and very fine texture. I just realized after reading my recipe again that ive been mixing it in a different way. I know its a reverse creaming method, so i mix the dry ingredients to the fat and when its like sand texture thats when i add the liquid, etc..... But after reading the pdf again today, it says that add the fat and buttermilk to the dry ingredients. Im confuse now, i thought reverse creaming method is mixing dry and butter. If you mix dry ingredients together with fat and liquid then its called one bowl method. Sorry for my ignorance, im  just a hobby baker, maybe someone can help me understand this and correct me if im wrong. Thanks

4 replies
Gerle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Gerle Posted 15 Jan 2017 , 12:53am
post #2 of 5

I've always just followed the recipe as written when making this recipe and have never had a problem.  If you're happy with the way the recipe turns out the way you're making it and other people are happy with it's taste, I'd just continue with the way you've been making it.  If you really feel you need to change to the reverse creaming method, which is the original way to mix it all, then do so and see what you think.  If you aren't happy with the way it turns out, go back to the way you've been making it all along.  I'm just a hobby baker, too,  but as I said, I've always had so many compliments on this cake it will always be my favorite white cake.

Siftandwisk2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Siftandwisk2 Posted 15 Jan 2017 , 1:50am
post #3 of 5

Don't worry, you're technique is standard for high ratio and was the original way her recipe was written.