Help!!! Wasc Recipe Has Become Unbakable

Baking By tootiefruity Updated 20 Nov 2016 , 10:18pm by tootiefruity

tootiefruity Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tootiefruity Posted 17 Nov 2016 , 11:51am
post #1 of 7

Hello fellow Cake Central users. I need some help!!!  I've been using the WASC recipe since 2012 with no issues. In May of 2016, I was in the process of baking for a wedding cake. Always baking the WASC recipe in the 325-335 degree F range (20 year old plus electric oven), only changing the flavors, for the most part, I decided to use half sour cream and half yogurt to beef up the flavor of the recipe. Always using baking strips and flower nails, I also use the quick recipe for greasing/flouring the pans, and parchment on the bottom. As I began baking and as the cakes started to rise, I notice something wasn't right. The cake started bubbling in the middle, a lot more then normal. As the rising continued, it started bubbling around the edges. Now, keep in mind that I've been using this recipe and baking the same way for 3+ years, and no matter how much batter I put in the pan, this never happened. As the cake continues to bake, it rises above the top of the pan, and may either be done enough to stay in the pan, or like yesterday, I tried adding the 3 oz of mix back to bring it to the 18.25 oz the DH mix use to be, and it was running over the edge of the pan. Has anyone had this problem and have a fix? Here's the result from yesterday. And, although they may look done, they weren't. Thanks for any help! Fran

[postimage id="5753" thumb="900"]

6 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 17 Nov 2016 , 6:35pm
post #2 of 7

Are you using my *Original* WASC recipe?  As you probably know there are several versions of WASC recipes on this and other sites :(