First Two Tier

Baking By Tricesweetaddiction Updated 19 Oct 2016 , 3:38pm by kakeladi

Tricesweetaddiction Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tricesweetaddiction Posted 18 Oct 2016 , 5:08pm
post #1 of 7

Hello Everyone, 

I am a self taught baker. decorator. I am making my first two tier cake soon.My cousin pretty much letting me come up withe design as long as it has a 49er theme. I wanted to what are some tips/advice for baking a tier cake and using fondant.  How can i achieve the 49ers colors. Im sorry for all the question. lol

6 replies
remnant3333 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
remnant3333 Posted 18 Oct 2016 , 7:02pm
post #2 of 7

Google 49ers football cake and look at images of different designs. I am only a hobby cake maker and I do not like fondant. Hopefully others here will give you some advice. I did see one cake that looks like a football field with 49ers written on the field goal ends. They have many also with fondant. While waiting for others to reply you should check it out. 

Miss.Reynolds Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Miss.Reynolds Posted 18 Oct 2016 , 8:31pm
post #3 of 7

Hi @Tricesweetaddiction ‍ I saw this chart a while ago and thought it might help you with the 49er colors.  It should work with fondant as well and gel colors instead of those drops. Just keep eyeballing the color as you mix it in and remember that colored fondant darkens after a day or two when you let it rest. I recently heard a little tip too to always let colored fondant rest for a few days after you color it to avoid sagging on your cake. Bake the cakes in advance (I normally do 3-4 days) and wrap them tightly in plastic wrap and foil so that they are easier to handle on the day of decorating. Hope this helps! 

Image result for nfl fondant color chart

Tricesweetaddiction Posted 19 Oct 2016 , 5:54am
post #4 of 7

Thank you so much. When should I coat the cake in the crumb coat??

Tricesweetaddiction Posted 19 Oct 2016 , 5:55am
post #5 of 7