Pricing Up Cukcakes

Baking By Mojo1210 Updated 10 Jun 2016 , 11:01pm by Mojo1210

Mojo1210 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mojo1210 Posted 10 Jun 2016 , 8:16am
post #1 of 15

im just a hobby Baker one of my friends boyfriend has asked to make these. He would like 12 cupcakes in chocolate and plain. How much would u charge for 12 I'm all new to this help [postimage id="4154" thumb="900"]

14 replies
ropalma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ropalma Posted 10 Jun 2016 , 2:12pm
post #2 of 15

All depends on ingredients and if you want to charge for your time.  With this much detail I would charge at least $2 per cupcake

carolinecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
carolinecakes Posted 10 Jun 2016 , 3:05pm
post #3 of 15

That's covered in fondant and fondant toppers, at least $30.00-$36.00/ dozen.

hippiecac Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hippiecac Posted 10 Jun 2016 , 3:13pm
post #4 of 15

$36/dozen for plain undecorated cupcake with buttercream 

Fondant toppers $.50 - $3 depending on complexity

So, $42-$72 depending on which cupcakes the customer wants

Also, my cupcakes are a minimum of 12 per flavor

Apti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Apti Posted 10 Jun 2016 , 4:21pm
post #5 of 15

I'm with hippiecac above.  Ditto to everything she said, but the detailed fondant 3-D figures (cat, hat, signs, etc.) add $3 for EACH decoration.  For the less involved fondant circles with tiny flowers, add $1 minimum per cupcake.

If you are new to this and can achieve that level of perfection (are those your cupcakes or a photo from online?), then those prices are appropriate since nobody else can make them.   If you cannot achieve that level of perfection, cut your prices in half. 

Since you are "new to this", chances are that the friend will be appalled at a quote of $75 for that exact dozen.  However, he's not paying for plain old cupcakes, he's paying for CUSTOM, art cupcakes made-to-order.  (In the UK, "bespoke" cupcakes.)