Squishing Cake With Center Dowel?!

Decorating By CharliesMom09 Updated 27 Apr 2016 , 12:05am by CharliesMom09

CharliesMom09 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CharliesMom09 Posted 21 Apr 2016 , 2:36am
post #1 of 15

How do you insert a center dowel through multiple tiers without squishing the bottom tier? I'm a home hobby baker, making & transporting my first (free) two-tiered, buttercream-covered cake this weekend. To transport it stacked, it sounds like I should add a sharpened center dowel through the whole cake. I just practiced on some extra cake. While gently twisting the dowel through the top tier's cake board, the bottom tier was squishing. This temporary squishing would mess up the nice smooth buttercream on the sides of the bottom tier. Help! Thanks in advance!

14 replies
ypierce82 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ypierce82 Posted 21 Apr 2016 , 2:47am
post #2 of 15

With a 2 tier, I don't use a center dowel. I just make sure that my cake is chilled before transporting to avoid any sliding issues.

CharliesMom09 Posted 21 Apr 2016 , 3:07am
post #3 of 15

I'm paranoid, as I live on top of a mountain and have to take the cake down into the valley via a pothole-ridden road. I don't think I'd be able to fit the cake in our 'fridge to chill it, so I'm operating on the assumption of a room-temp cake.

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 21 Apr 2016 , 3:44am
post #4 of 15

oh you definitely need to get it cold -- getting it cold is more important/effective than the center dowell -- start re-arranging the fridge -- take out the shelf -- a two tier cake is very doable in most fridges

CharliesMom09 Posted 21 Apr 2016 , 4:06am
post #5 of 15

Really? Oh, boy! I should've planned this week's grocery shopping & family meals around storing this cake!