Buttercream Causing Fondant To Go Bumpy?

Decorating By Lottiec90 Updated 9 Feb 2016 , 1:20pm by MagicMoon

Lottiec90 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lottiec90 Posted 8 Feb 2016 , 9:41pm
post #1 of 6

56b90b770324f.jpegI'm Hello all, 

New here and hoping you can help. I'm puzzled as I've been doing this for 5 years with no changes and now suddenly having a big issue with this. 

i bake, cool, cut, fill and crumb coat. Then pop it in the fridge until it loses its stick then take it out and allow it to come back to room temp (remains unsticky to touch). I then do a final buttercream layer. fondant cover and it is completely smooth! 

later though I can see exactly where the buttercream is layered as it protrudes out giving an awful finish. I will try to attach a photo of a text cake or two. Sorry it's dark only one I can find that I didn't manage to cover up!! It's much more obvious in daylight lol 

to say it's driving me nuts is a understatement! I'd love to get this sorted before a very elegant four tier christening cake next weekend. 

5 replies
jchuck Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jchuck Posted 8 Feb 2016 , 10:41pm
post #2 of 6

Picture is rather dark...but even making it bigger, I can't see any flaws???

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 9 Feb 2016 , 12:03am
post #3 of 6

Yes, besides being dark and small your picture is sideways so we cannot see any flaws.  

MagicMoon Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MagicMoon Posted 9 Feb 2016 , 2:26am
post #4 of 6

Are you talking about the bulge that sometimes happens where the buttercream filling is between the layers?

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 9 Feb 2016 , 3:57am
post #5 of 6

MAgic moon you might be right.  I turned my laptop around and I think I can see that now that you mentioned it.

MagicMoon Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MagicMoon Posted 9 Feb 2016 , 1:20pm
post #6 of 6