Newbie Here, Wanting To Talk Cakes!! :-)

Baking By MrsGab24 Updated 17 Feb 2016 , 3:28am by kakeladi

MrsGab24 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MrsGab24 Posted 8 Feb 2016 , 5:12pm
post #1 of 9

Hello All,

So I have always loved to bake and decorate and am looking to branch out from box cake mixes. I am interested in knowing what type of cakes are best for making tiered cakes.  I would also like to know what types of cake I can use with a sugar syrup to keep it moist. Any suggestions/advice is greatly appreciated. 

8 replies
shaloop Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shaloop Posted 8 Feb 2016 , 11:01pm
post #2 of 9

Most any kind would be good. Maybe try with a butter cake, white or yellow. I'd suggest checking out "The Cake Bible" or a similar book

shaloop Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shaloop Posted 8 Feb 2016 , 11:01pm
post #3 of 9

Most any kind would be good. Maybe try with a butter cake, white or yellow. I'd suggest checking out "The Cake Bible" or a similar book

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 9 Feb 2016 , 12:00am
post #4 of 9

Personally I never had any luck with scratch recipes.  Baked right a box mix can be *VERY* moist and tender.  Have you tried my *original* WASC recipe?  Be sure to read the whole post as there are lots of helpful hints in the comments  http://www.cakecentral.com/recipe/7445/the-original-wasc-cake-recipe

Using this recipe you will get a nice, moist wonderful cake without having to use simple syrup.

julia1812 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
julia1812 Posted 9 Feb 2016 , 5:43am
post #5 of 9