Customer Is Never Satisfied

Business By figueroa33 Updated 26 Jan 2016 , 2:47pm by cakesbycathy

figueroa33 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
figueroa33 Posted 24 Jan 2016 , 8:49pm
post #1 of 16

Hello Forum

I am new to cake central but I have been a professional baker for over ten years. I became unable to work last year and decided this year to start a cake business from home. So I am new to business but not to baking. I am also new to decorating.

Everyone that's ever gotten a cake from me always reorders and loves my cakes. Everyone except one person, my aunt. I had extra chocolate cupcakes from an order and I gave them to her. She said they were not as moist as the box cake. Recently she ordered a cassada cake from me. In Cleveland a cassada cake is vanilla cake, pasry cream, fresh strawberries, and whipped cream. I asked her twice if that's what she meant, she said yes. She is used to the cassada cakes my dad makes, box cake with strawberry filling from a bag inbetween and bettercream. She complained about my price but I stuck to my guns on price and she ordered.

Well my dad called her today to chat about things and he asked her how the cake was and she said she didn't like it. She is the only person to have tried my cassada cake to not like it. I know this is a distortion but I feel like my business will fail. Like maybe tons of other people won't like it once I get out there more.

My mom says I should just not make her anymore cakes. Refer her to another bakery or the grocery store. I don't know what to do. What would you do and how do you handle the let down of a hard to please customer?

*Last edited by figueroa33 on 24 Jan 2016 , 8:51pm
15 replies
Pastrybaglady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pastrybaglady Posted 24 Jan 2016 , 10:06pm
post #2 of 16