Urgent Help With Sps System And Wedding Cake!

Decorating By mmhassa2 Updated 31 Oct 2015 , 11:01pm by littlebsbakery

mmhassa2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mmhassa2 Posted 31 Oct 2015 , 7:37pm
post #1 of 9

So I'm in Canada and last month during a trip to US I ordered SPS system from Global Sugar Art for a wedding cake I'm working on this coming weekend. Since its my first time working with a 12", 10" and 8" cake I figured the SPS will make it a breeze.  Until now I've done several 10",8" and 6" 3 tiered cake with bubble straws. 

Well just looked at the pillars and they're 4" high! For some reason I swear I thought they were 5" high.  What am I suppose to do? All my pans are 2" high, so from the top of my head my cakes are often 4.5" high and I was going to use extra buttercream to built it upto 5".  Now my issue is the pillars are approx .5" too short. 

I dont think I can purchase 5" pillars anywhere locally.  I looked prior to ordering the SPS from US. 

8 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 31 Oct 2015 , 7:40pm
post #2 of 9

cut your cake to fit the pillar

mmhassa2 Posted 31 Oct 2015 , 7:42pm
post #3 of 9

The problem is I level my cakes while still in the pan as it's easier and have never really torted them nor do I have the slicer. 

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 31 Oct 2015 , 7:46pm
post #4 of 9

Cake has to match the pillars.  No option there.  SPS DOES make a 5" pillar, but prob not available anywhere on such short notice.

mmhassa2 Posted 31 Oct 2015 , 7:49pm
post #5 of 9

Just dug up this post from a previous and thread and hoping I have the same experience...

"sillywabbitz Posted 27 Sep 2010 , 5:26pm

post #21 of 32
Actions 

Read more at http://www.cakecentral.com/forum/t/697173/spsnot-so-much-for-those-who-love-it-this-is-jmo#uG0IKP7WzyrGeErj.99"

Pastrybaglady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pastrybaglady Posted 31 Oct 2015 , 8:01pm
post #6 of 9