Is There Something Wrong With My Gumpaste?

Sugar Work By amiewid Updated 22 Jan 2017 , 9:48pm by Chary51

amiewid Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
amiewid Posted 29 Oct 2015 , 2:37am
post #1 of 15

Hi all, I'm newbie here. smiley.png Pls. can somebody help or can give me an advice if what's wrong w/ my gumpaste? I bake and decorate cake as a hobby or just for friends & family. I haven't tried gumpaste yet before, only fondant. Now, I tried making gumpaste using the recipes that provided over the web (egg whites, tylose powder, confectioner sugar). I set it for 24 hrs before I used it and started making figures. I set overnight the figures/toppers I made out of gumpaste. When I checked it, I observed/noticed that it didn't dry hard instead, it seems like melting/sweating. I felt disappointed. worried.pngWhat should I do to dry it hard, not to sweat or sticky. Or Should I need to buy a premade gumpaste for figures and flowers decorations? 

Looking forward to your advice. Thank you!

14 replies
julia1812 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
julia1812 Posted 29 Oct 2015 , 3:38pm
post #2 of 15

It sounds like you placed your figurines in the fridge to dry/harden. Is that correct? 

Gum paste should be air dried, you outside on the counter.

amiewid Posted 30 Oct 2015 , 11:49am
post #3 of 15

After I made my figurines, I just leaved it at the pan tray with paper towel and just put it in the table overnight. :(

Jeff_Arnett Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jeff_Arnett Posted 30 Oct 2015 , 1:23pm
post #4 of 15

Personally I've never had good luck with the egg white/tylose recipe.  It's either too soft, too stiff or too rubbery when I make it.  I make Linda McClure's version of the Rosemary Watson recipe (Rosemary used gum tragacanth in hers, Linda uses Tylose).  You can google "Linda McClure's gum paste recipe" and find her video where she shows you how to make it.  It's handles well and dries very hard.

amiewid Posted 30 Oct 2015 , 1:41pm
post #5 of 15