How To Get Smooth Frosting

Decorating By kari7595 Updated 21 Aug 2015 , 11:16pm by kari7595

kari7595 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kari7595 Posted 17 Aug 2015 , 12:01am
post #1 of 6

So I am very new to cake decorating. I  mostly just play at it. But would like to turn it into something more eventually. But for right now I am just working on my skills.  But my cousin is getting married and has asked me to do a cake for her. It is a cake that is  a three tier square cake with pointed edges not round and frosting. I have done fondant cakes but not frosting because I can't make it smooth. Is there a trick??  Thanks for any help you can offer!55d1244ba38fe.jpeg

5 replies
Jeff_Arnett Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jeff_Arnett Posted 17 Aug 2015 , 12:53am
post #2 of 6

There are as many tricks as there are decorators.  Taking on a cake like this is quite a task if you don't feel that experienced....so make sure you feel comfortable before agreeing....nothing worse than a cake nightmare.

That said, if you feel good about taking this one on, there are tons of tutorials on YouTube and Cake Cental as well....the method you choose depends a lot on the icing recipe you choose.  There are techniques that work with crusting icings that don't work so well with those that do not crust.

the biggest tip I can give is don't wait to practice on this important cake...start practicing now.  Smoothing buttercream perfectly is different than coveting a cake in fondant.  Good luck!!

*Last edited by Jeff_Arnett on 17 Aug 2015 , 12:54am
jgifford Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jgifford Posted 17 Aug 2015 , 6:11pm
post #3 of 6