Need Thoughts Regarding Problem Storing Cake

Decorating By LibrarianBakes Updated 31 Jul 2015 , 1:50am by didavista

LibrarianBakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LibrarianBakes Posted 30 Jul 2015 , 1:38pm
post #1 of 7

This is my first time posting anything, but I've been reading the forum for a couple years now and have learned so much from everyone. I have a full-time day job and bake cakes part time. I have a 10" round cake due Saturday morning and since I work full time, I have to do everything on a timeline. The issue is that we just moved into a house and I have been battling sugar ants. I think I've gotten it taken care of, at this point, as I haven't seen any this week. However, I must have PTSD from them because I'm terrified to leave anything out on my counter or table for fear the ants will come marching in. I never keep my cakes in the fridge normally. I had frozen my cakes and let them thaw in the fridge yesterday, instead of the counter like I usually do, just in case the ants came back. So, last night I stacked, filled and crumb coated them. I covered the cake in saran wrap and then put in a cake box and covered that in saran wrap and put it back in the fridge (which I normally never do). So here are my questions:

1. How bad do you think that will dry out my cake?

2. Tonight I have to cover it in fondant and I REALLY do not want to put it back in the fridge with fondant on it. I had an idea that I could just put it in the oven (turned off, of course), just to keep it in a sealed environment that no possible ants could get into. Has anyone tried this?

It's embarrassing to admit I was battling ants, I clean like a maniac, so I don't know why they kept coming in. Anyway any thoughts on this would be much appreciated.

6 replies
prettycupcake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prettycupcake Posted 30 Jul 2015 , 2:24pm
post #2 of 7