Peacock Panic

Decorating By CiciMcClintock Updated 20 Jul 2015 , 12:55pm by jgifford

CiciMcClintock Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CiciMcClintock Posted 17 Jul 2015 , 1:15am
post #1 of 14

55a85719e8f4b.jpeg A friend of mine asked if I could make a cake for her wedding, I have always provided cakes for gatherings and parties and I love it. I would say I am pretty skilled at it. However, I have never done a wedding cake before... "Oh I can handle it" HA! I told her yes before she showed me what she wanted, a three tiered monster with fondant peacock tail feathers cascading down the side and continuing out into cupcakes. The tiered cake... Not really what I am worried about, I have stacked cakes before, however I have not covered them in fondant. I have never worked with fondant. To say I am nervous that it turns out disastrous is an understatement. It makes me sick every time I think about it. So, my main concerns are: if I freeze the cake ahead of time how far ahead of the date can I freeze it? When should I take it out? Does it need to defrost before applying the fondant? Will the cake turn to mush from condensation? I live in North east Florida. What about bulging? Will the fondant get condensation on it?

I think I can cover it well enough. That doesn't seem to difficult but then the feather decorations. 

I will need probably 200 fondant feathers. Is there any way to make and store them a few days ahead because it will take FOREVER to make that many, or will they get hard? I need to drape them over the cake. Also should I use just plain fondant or a half fondant half gum paste? I also don't know how much fondant to order for that, there are charts that tell you how much you will need to cover a cake but nothing that tells me how far it will spread rolled out. The feathers will probably be about 3 in wide and 5 or 6 in long.