Am I Overcharging??

Business By lisasnider Updated 9 Jul 2015 , 7:19pm by lisasnider

lisasnider Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lisasnider Posted 9 Jul 2015 , 2:18am
post #1 of 13

I am a home baker and someone asked me for a quote on an 8 inch fondant covered barnyard themed cake (wish I could upload the picture). It was topped with a 3D sculpted barn and a few little fondant animals. I said $127...$3.50/serving plus $50 for the sculpting. She said some local bakeries quoted her $61 to $68 plus tax. Is my price just ridiculous? What am I doing wrong? Should I charge less for sculpting? I know pricing is the hardest part and heavidly dependent on region..I've been struggling with it for a while. Any help or input would be appreciated!

12 replies
cakesbycathy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesbycathy Posted 9 Jul 2015 , 2:29am
post #2 of 13

IMO your pricing was fine.  I would have charged the same.  Bottom line is most people do not understand the amount of work involved and want to pay Walmart prices for Pintrest style cakes.

As far as her telling you what other bakeries quoted her....it's entirely possible she was quoted that by someone who really undercharges.  It's also possible she picked a number she wants to pay and is hoping you'll come down and match it.

Jeff_Arnett Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jeff_Arnett Posted 9 Jul 2015 , 2:48am
post #3 of 13

Seriously....what kind of sculpting job can she get for that price?  I'd have to see it...and the person willing to do it....for that price. 

I'd be more in the $150 range on a cake like that, so if your skills are up to par, stand your ground....you'll attract the people who really want the extra attention to detail, not just a cake for cheap!

Jedi Knight Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jedi Knight Posted 9 Jul 2015 , 2:52am
post #4 of 13

Was it sculpted or hand-modeled?

lisasnider Posted 9 Jul 2015 , 3:00am
post #5 of 13