Pricing For Cakes, Please Help!

Business By sassyinky Updated 8 Jul 2015 , 11:55pm by Webake2gether

sassyinky Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sassyinky Posted 8 Jul 2015 , 3:31pm
post #1 of 6

Good morning fellow bakers! so I am no professional by no means and still pretty new to the game, however I have been asked to make cakes for coworkers and family. When I bake a cake I don't do low quality and I strive to make a delicious and moist cake and I don't like fondant but I do decorate with Fondant. I always use my go to butter cream recipe which I use high ratio shortning , that being said I don't know what to charge for a layered or  tiered cake? I know most goes by the servings but I don't know how many servings you get out of a cake either. I know this is a question that varies due to decorating and such but if I could get a general idea that would be GREAT! Thank you!

5 replies
Claire138 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Claire138 Posted 8 Jul 2015 , 3:45pm
post #2 of 6

Hi Sassyinky,

There are just too many variables to be able to say off the bat how much you should charge; least of all, how big the cake is, what people in your area charge, how much you pay for the basics etc etc etc. If you do a search for pricing on the search engine you should be able to get more help. For how many servings you get per cake do a search on the wiltons site - they have a good chart that a lot of bakers use.

Good luck!

johnson6ofus Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
johnson6ofus Posted 8 Jul 2015 , 4:10pm
post #3 of 6

serving numbers: http://www.wilton.com/cakes/making-cakes/baking-serving-guide.cfm

Like any product, it is priced for your region (check other local, similar bakers) and your quality/style. Regionally, the cost of living/rent in Manhattan is higher than Who-knows-where, Ohio or Kansas (no offence) so obviously THE SAME cake in Manhattan will cost more.