Newbie :) Need Good Icing Recipe For A Novice!!! Also, How Do You Get Even Cakes?

Decorating By beenew Updated 27 Jun 2015 , 1:19pm by beenew

beenew Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beenew Posted 24 Jun 2015 , 3:05pm
post #1 of 8

Hello!  I am a novice baker, decorator.   I am trying to do a birthday cake for my son.  Last year I made a large 2 layer square cake...it didn't bake even, couldn't get it even,  my icing would kind of squish out between layers causing a bulge.  Used basic icing Wilton recipe but added  baking margarine in it  (package said great for baking) with shortening.    I would like to know a good icing for decorating that holds up well that is not sickingly sweet.     I really only try do this 2 or so times a year simply because family seems to prefer regular cakes (adults).  This birthday will take place in a park, so I won't have a fridge to store it in for couple or so hours.  Advice?  Thanks

7 replies
celestecakes78 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
celestecakes78 Posted 24 Jun 2015 , 4:00pm
post #2 of 8

Wiltons recipe for buttercream is ok but you can cut back the sugar to make it less sweet. What size cake are you planning to make?

beenew Posted 25 Jun 2015 , 12:41pm
post #3 of 8

Thanks for responding.  He would like a building shaped cake to put 2 Marvel heroes battling on top.  I know I will be stacking the cakes and they need to be even.  Was thinking like a single 9X13 base, then maybe 2 to4  8 inch circle stacked.   It is amazing all of the icing recipes you find on the internet.   Would just like a good one that works and tastes good. Even with those bake strips you put on pans, I still get a bump in the middle.         

WhileHewasgamin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
WhileHewasgamin Posted 25 Jun 2015 , 1:18pm
post #4 of 8

Here is a link to my trial run on buttercream from scratch, hope it helps! buttercream Recipe.

Rfisher Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rfisher Posted 25 Jun 2015 , 1:25pm
post #5 of 8