Barbie Doll Cake

Baking By flawless1 Updated 23 Jun 2015 , 7:21pm by SquirrellyCakes

flawless1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
flawless1 Posted 22 Jun 2015 , 4:42pm
post #1 of 10

I am new to baking and next Saturday I am attempting to bake a Barbie doll cake. I have researched the cake on google and  youtube and they suggest you should use a box cake mix because it is dense.  Does it really matter if it's a dense or moist recipe?  I will be baking the doll cake in a 1 1/2 quart pyrex glass bowl and two 8 inch round cake pans. I would prefer to use a homemade vanilla or yellow cake. Would anyone be willing to share a dense homemade vanilla or yellow cake recipe that I could use? One more thing, could someone please tell me how much cake batter I  should use in the 1 1/2 quart pyrex glass bowl.

Thanks 

9 replies
SquirrellyCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SquirrellyCakes Posted 22 Jun 2015 , 7:59pm
post #2 of 10

I always use the Wondermold pan and an eight or nine inch by 2 inch deep layer or two underneath( usually petal pans) so I have no idea how much batter a pyrex bowl takes. But the best way to guesstimate is to take measuring cups of water to figure out how much water it takes to fill the pan to 2/3.  The standard amount of batter used for any pan is 2/3 of the amount it takes to fill a pan to the top, although all cake mixes and from-scratch cake recipes don't create the exact same results.  Meaning that different mixes or recipes rise different amounts.

You can use most cake recipes for this purpose. I don't think it matters much if it is a dense or moist cake but I wouldn't do it with an angel food cake recipe if I was covering the cake with fondant for example. 

I like the white cake recipe that is part of the Martha Stewart Neapolitan Wedding Cake recipe on her site. 

You are likely going to need 1 1/2 to 2 times most standard cake recipes that make about 4.5 to 5.5 cups of batter.

Here is the white cake recipe from Martha Stewart.