Have You Ever Hated A Cake?

Decorating By alexius007 Updated 8 Jun 2015 , 3:31pm by alexius007

alexius007 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alexius007 Posted 7 Jun 2015 , 3:25pm
post #1 of 17

I'm just an amateur/hobby baker, no selling or plans to go pro, but I think I have some decent skills.  I know my limitations and I don't try to go for something that's beyond what I know I'm capable of.  With that said, I just made a cake for my son's birthday and I hate it.  I had a hard time visualizing how it was going to go together and as a result, it's just "meh" in my book.  Technique-wise it's fine, my icing is nice and smooth, I covered my cake board, my piping is nice, etc., but the design sucks.  I know my son will love it but after making my daughter's red white and blue cake in my profile, this cake is just such a downer for me.  I think what's really getting me is that some of the reasons it's "meh" instead of "wow" is that I was tired and just wanted to be done with it (we're moving in a week, it's really hectic around here).  I'm just bummed.  I wanted a "wow" cake and it's not really "wow" at all and every time I look at it I think "Ugh."  Thanks for letting me vent, and feel free to share your "cake-hating" stories to make me feel better.

16 replies
julia1812 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
julia1812 Posted 7 Jun 2015 , 3:42pm
post #2 of 17

Oh no. So sorry you are not happy with the result. Is there a chance you could add something to it to make it a but wow at least? Not sure how it looks like now and as a mother I know we are our worst critics most of the time. If you haven't served it yet,post a picture, would be easier to evaluate.