Questions About Ganache . . .

Decorating By mom2rascals Updated 3 Jun 2015 , 3:40pm by lisatipperoo

mom2rascals Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mom2rascals Posted 28 May 2015 , 1:02am
post #1 of 23

Hi,  I have a few questions as I have never worked with ganache before.  I plan on making a sports car cake and was wondering if you ice the cake frozen, cold or room temperature.  Can I decorate with fondant over the ganache?  And I'm also wondering what "good chocolate" is and how to identify the good stuff from the bad when buying (live in Alberta, Canada btw).  Can I buy good chocolate at any local stores rather than on-line.

Thank you 

22 replies
winniemog Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
winniemog Posted 28 May 2015 , 3:55am
post #2 of 23

I usually chill my buttercream-filled cakes to set the filling and then put the ganache on them while they are cold, although I don't have an issue working on room temp cakes if that's what happens either.

Good chocolate is anything with cocoa butter in the ingredients, cheaper/nastier chocolates are made with other types of fats. I'm in Australia so can't help you on local stores - but just check chocolates in the grocery store for their ingredient list. I buy my chocolate in 10kg bags and use Callebaut couverture. It's a very good quality - but expensive!!

MKC Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MKC Posted 28 May 2015 , 4:44pm
post #3 of 23

I agree with winniemog. I chill the cakes with the filling for 1 hour before finishing it with the ganache.

I'm in Ottawa and I use Chipits. I buy it at Costco. Costco has their own brand name but I find it difficult to work with.

MKC Posted 28 May 2015 , 4:58pm
post #4 of 23

The correct ratio for this project is 2 parts chocolate (in weight not measuring cups) and 1 part heavy cream.

I mix them both and put it in the microwave for a minute at a time until I see that the chocolate has started to melt.