In Much Need Of Advice With Running My Cake Business From Home.

Business By Cupcakes0101 Updated 31 May 2015 , 2:00am by Cupcakes0101

Cupcakes0101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cupcakes0101 Posted 25 May 2015 , 9:37pm
post #1 of 18

Hi everyone! Im new to cake central and I am in hopes that someone can give me advice with running my business from home. I have been in business for about 3 years, I have all necessary licenses and  permits to do so. But I just don't feel like I am managing it well, in regards to time. I accept payments/deposits via paypal, I email invoices/receipts, I usually pick up materials on Monday for the following weekend orders, and  I do not freeze my cakes. I guess what Im needing is insight on how any of you run your cake business?? I am thankfully booked every weekend, I take about an average of 8 orders per weekend. I also make cupcakes, cake pops, cookies and cake shooters. I do absolutely everything all by myself, well sometimes my hubby drives on my Saturday deliveries. Can anyone tell me how your run/organize your business from home??

17 replies
jgifford Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jgifford Posted 26 May 2015 , 12:29am
post #2 of 18

I am a firm believer in routine and sticky notes.  I no longer have a cake business since my DH and I bought a small restaurant, but some things carry over.

I kept a LARGE calendar on the wall with sticky notes on each date with the items scheduled for that day.  If anything changed, I could move them around as needed.  I also had an erasable marker board for quick notes, items for my shopping lists, etc.

I developed routines and always, always did things in the same way and in the same order.  That way it was more like auto pilot on some of the less-complicated jobs and I could save the major concentration for the items that really needed it.  I only have a limited supply of that.