Newbie Sharing Trauma Of First Time Cake Collapse

Decorating By Cali6422 Updated 11 May 2015 , 8:44pm by sweets2thesweet

Cali6422 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cali6422 Posted 11 May 2015 , 5:58pm
post #1 of 4

Oh the horror of it!!!

I’m relatively new to cake decorating but decided to expand my skill-set and try a topsy turvy.  All went well with construction.  Layers were leveled … bubble tea straws placed as supports.  For a beginner, the cake decorating was acceptable (tho there’s always room for improvement).

I packed everything up in a sturdy box with nonskid mat on the bottom and it was placed it on a level surface in the car.  It theory, the short 6 mile transport should have been a breeze  Unfortunately, a rainy day and a driver rear ending the car in front of me necessitated hitting my brakes a bit harder than I (or the cake) liked.  Although automotive catastrophe was avoided, the feeling in the pit of my stomach told me that a cakery disaster occurred in the sealed box.

Upon arrival at work, I opened the box and what should my eyes behold - A total cake collapse.  The front was mostly intact.  But the back broke off and splattered.  The top layer appeared to ski right off the filling and catapult itself onto the cardboard.  The cake carnage was horrifying!!  Cake shards and frosting splatters everywhere!! Lol

However, my forensic examination of the remains of my slaughtered cake supplied me with a learning opportunity.  What I could have done better:  Supports should have been placed further apart, I should have driven a skewer thru the center of the entire cake … and it should have been cold.  There would probably still have been damage … but perhaps not as extensive.

But on the bright side … It was just a practice cake nobody was disappointed … AND there was no hesitation by people not wanting to “cut the pretty cake”.  Now onto my next learning experiment. :-)   

3 replies
DeniseNH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile